top of page

A congratulatory letter from President of Hainan Alumni Association of Nanjing University

A congratulatory letter from President of Hainan Alumni Association of Nanjing University

Dr. Shicun Wu

On behalf of the Hainan Alumni Association of Nanjing University, President of this Association Dr. Wu Shicun sent a congratulatory letter to the Organizing Committee of the International Forum to Commemorate the 110th Anniversary of Madame Chien-Shiung Wu. The sponsors of this event is the American Physical Society (APS) and the Chinese Physical

Society (CPS), two of the most globally respected professional societies.

In his comment, Dr. Wu highly praised Madame Wu for her contributions to humanity and is an outstanding role model for female scientists. Dr. Wu sincerely wish the conference a complete success.

It should be underscored that Dr. Wu Shicun is also the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the China-Southeast Asia Research Center on the South China Sea, the Founding President of the National Institute for the South China Sea Studies (China), and the Vice President of the China Institute for Free Trade Ports Studies.

To express his tremendous respect for Madame Wu, Dr. Wu specially appointed Dr. Hong Nong, the Executive Director of China's first think tank – the Institute for China-America Studies, which was established in Washington, USA, as his special representative to attend the meeting at the USPS Conference Center.

About the C.S. Wu Global Forum

In order to commemorate Madame Chien Shiung Wu's 110 Anniversaries, Nanjing University Alumni Association United States (USAAUS) will host the first C.S. Wu Global Online Symposium, on September 24th, 2022. It welcomes scientists, teachers and students all over the world to join this open event.

The son of Madame C.S. Wu, Dr. Vincent Yuan, expressed his great pleasure in approving the NUAAUS to organize this commemorative event.

The U.S. Postal Service wrote to NUAAUS and authorized the use of Chien-shung Wu commemorative stamp to honor her as "one of the most influential nuclear physicists of the 20th century".

6 views0 comments


bottom of page